2011 Killing Rate in Video Games

I went to this page on Wikipedia which details the A to AAA video game (console, handheld and computer, but not phone app games) titles released in 2011, and took a random sample of 50 games from the list of 266. The question I ask is “Does this game feature killing (of any apparent living creature) as a key aspect of gameplay?

The results are similar to past results: 39 of 50 feature killing, a 78% rate. Previously the rate was about 80% as well.

Here are links to some of my previous research:

Amateur Games

2006 PC Games

2005 PC Games

2004 PC Games

2006 Hollywood

3 Responses to “2011 Killing Rate in Video Games”

  1. Milagro Says:

    With havin so much content and articles do you ever run
    into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My site has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement. Do you know any methods to help protect against content from being ripped off? I’d genuinely appreciate
    it.

    • briankoontz Says:

      Based on site statistics barely anyone even visits my blog, much less reads posts seriously enough to care to plagiarize. It’s possible that plagiarism exists however which is just as morally serious regardless of whether it’s Shakespeare or an anonymous blogger like myself being ripped off.

      I don’t have any special knowledge regarding the tools that content producers like us (and millions of others) could use to protect ourselves. The old fashioned cease-and-desist letter, followed up by significant legal threat which also requires significant access to wealth to make such a threat legitimate is what I would pursue in the highly unlikely case that that becomes an issue in my personal life. Of course, I would begin by politely asking someone to remove the plagiarized material and apologize for the offence.

  2. Kacey Says:

    Hello. remarkable job. I did not expect this. This is a excellent story.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

