A return to IRC

I don’t understand why I’m banned from #qt3 IRC. What’s the motivation for doing so? Is there some ongoing issue I’m unaware of?

6 Responses to “A return to IRC”

  1. mad dog Says:

    If they’re going to be jerks, forget about them.

  2. briankoontz Says:

    I can’t. That’s a gateway to some of my friends.

  3. mad dog Says:

    Use a different name, sign up using a different e-mail address. If you get in, remember to avoid discussing politics.

  4. briankoontz Says:

    That’s a bad idea for any number of reasons. It’s ridiculous to have to be in disguise to see one’s friends. It’s also impossible to have a meaningful conversation where one party is deceitfully representing their identity, which is partially why there is a lack of such conversations in society in general (as people are not as comfortable with themselves as they should be). Also, when one is in disguise one can see his friends but his friends can’t see him, and friendship is poorly served by such an event. There’s enough tragedy in the world without doing things which will necessarily provide additional tragedy. Also, friendship has to be a two-way street. I’m doing what I can to see my friends, and they have to step up as well to support our meeting.

    Given the importance of politics in the world and especially in America today, I would be a poor friend if I didn’t talk about it with them. Friendship is not about trivializing each other’s lives with sports scores.

  5. fire Says:

    I’m banned, too. Something about my IRC client spamming the server. The ban is lifted in September, but I’m not holding my breath.🙂

  6. briankoontz Says:

    That’s unfortunate. Technically speaking I’m lucky if I can tie my shoes correctly, but can’t you just get a different IRC client?

    Jon Stewart is the perpetual man in the middle. Are you the Qt3 version of Jon Stewart?

Leave a Reply

